Infrastructure and Energy Sector

omaebakabaka

The claim is 100% bullshit and does not pass any basic common sense test. What india classifies as a road is things that do not exist in both USA and China. In both country, even village and rural roads are properly built to 2 lane + paved shoulders with proper lane markings. In India majority of rural roads are just a layer of asphalt. Granted previously it was mud road so it is still a big improvement, but the government is making a big mistake not properly building these rural roads to high standards from the beginning, especially with vehicle sales skyrocketing.

Also China is easily 100 years ahead in rural development, and have more or less caught up with euro countries (especially eastern europoors) and US. You can all this video cherrypicked, but can you even create a 7h long drive video in any part of India that looks like this? Notice how clean and smooth the road is + consistent lane markings throughout the entire video. There is also little to no mud/sand/dust on footpaths as they have been concretized. There is very little litter/rubbish on the roadsides and streets. there seem to be hundreds of dustbins (something completely absent in India). The crazy part is maybe 15 years ago or in the 2000s, these areas would have been undistinguishable from rural India today.
Some people here just act like pokis claiming they have 300b gdp and better than India and so forth and if we do the same without some level of objectivity on how we compare to hans in reality then we become butt jokes. As I said many times, first hand experience, China's infra is at a different level. Problem with us is corruption at all levels including people that abuse and act without civic conscience when using any facilities. Other than some top level 30 to 50k Rs night in five star hotel, we got nothing world class at this point. Maintenance is after thought and no idiot from janitor to IAS take their job seriously...

Where China lags is relatively low manners from a society point of view but that is very relative. Outside Japan, you will not find that level of society being mindful in Asia anywhere. Spitting, picking nose, being loud, some littering all different degrees in China, Korea and other countries (Singapore is an exception somewhat)

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Total bs, even bramhans that perform shraddh karma or sitting in inner sanctum of kashi vishwanath temple is chewing tobbacco....kashi is exception if you know the legends behind it as anything goes there but prayag raj and pretty much every place in UP, Bihar and to a lesser extent MP. Its just something they chew...you are from Lucknow, you should know better unless you don't really live there anymore
Lucknow mein gutka ka use na ki barabar hai ab. Idhar udhar tho ho jaata hai lekin paan thukna pehle se bahuth gat gaya hai. Varanasi mein bhi uthna nahi hai ab. Ayodhya mein tho thookna sakth mana hai - 5000 fine hai. Labor log tho kar hi dete hain par pakde jaane par bhaari pad saktha hai. Yogi sarkar ki kripa se lucknow mein logon ke bhav mein tharakki aayi hai.
Brahman logon ko yeh aadat hai sadiyon se. Yeh log bhi jahan camera hai wahan gandhgi nahi karte.
Change is happening as older generations with their century old habits fade out .

Azaad

Thought the basic measurement metric of lane kms was long followed by us.

dfcool

India's Urban population is growing at exponential phase.

we need wide freaking roads in metro cities all the way, not just in few places.

For godsake stop building fly overs inside city as solution to narrow roadways.

washington is the ideal metro city.

karn

India's Urban population is growing at exponential phase.

we need wide freaking roads in metro cities all the way, not just in few places.

For godsake stop building fly overs inside city as solution to narrow roadways.

washington is the ideal metro city.

No .. Fuck no .. Infact as mentioned in this video New delhi was designed along the same lines and that is partly responsible for its abysmal state today .. We should look to east asia for inspiration of urban planning .. America only serves as an example of what not to do.

mamamia12

No .. Fuck no .. Infact as mentioned in this video New delhi was designed along the same lines and that is partly responsible for its abysmal state today .. We should look to east asia for inspiration of urban planning .. America only serves as an example of what not to do.
You mean "Japan" especially Tokyo? Because except Japan, all other suck whether its China or Korea or other SEA. Tokyo is well designed and they can afford to do so because they were handed a clean white paper(it got obliterated) but we now don't have such luxury. So if we want a truly livable city, the only way is to build from scratch but remembering we are in India with UPSC wale babus, it will be another shitfest.

karn

You mean "Japan" especially Tokyo? Because except Japan, all other suck whether its China or Korea or other SEA. Tokyo is well designed and they can afford to do so because they were handed a clean white paper(it got obliterated) but we now don't have such luxury. So if we want a truly livable city, the only way is to build from scratch but remembering we are in India with UPSC wale babus, it will be another shitfest.
Please . Chinese eastern cities and literally anything in worst korea is 100 X better than the hellholes 60- 70% of our urban dwellers endure. East and southeast asia are the only successful models that have our population density.

Azaad

Please . Chinese eastern cities and literally anything in korea is 100 X better than the hellholes 60- 70% of our urban dwellers endure. East and southeast asia are the only successful models that have our population density.
Empower local municipalities over bureaucrats. The municipal commissioner till date in all the municipal corporations across the country have more power than the elected mayor.

Enact a parliamentary law which'd be ratified by all state legislatures granting autonomy in governance to all cities with a population above 20 lakhs.

Redefine the terms municipal corporation , municipal council , zilla parishad & gram panchayats in the constitution based primarily on population among other parameters to be considered .

Curtail the term each such body enjoys to 2.5 years instead of 5.

Enact these & other reforms & give it time to deliver all the while monitoring its progress with a view to fine tune reforms .

Else we're going to see the same mess magnified many times over in the next 2 decades & tempers out here would be even more frayed discussing the same issues lamenting how things were better 2 decades ago when it's bad now & will get progressively worse.

karn

Empower local municipalities over bureaucrats. The municipal commissioner till date in all the municipal corporations across the country have more power than the elected mayor.

Enact a parliamentary law which'd be ratified by all state legislatures granting autonomy in governance to all cities with a population above 20 lakhs.

Redefine the terms municipal corporation , municipal council , zilla parishad & gram panchayats in the constitution based primarily on population among other parameters to be considered .

Curtail the term each such body enjoys to 2.5 years instead of 5.

Enact these & other reforms & give it time to deliver all the while monitoring its progress with a view to fine tune reforms .

Else we're going to see the same mess magnified many times over in the next 2 decades & tempers out here would be even more frayed discussing the same issues lamenting how things were better 2 decades ago when it's bad now & will get progressively worse.
Babooz aren't stupid as is claimed by this thread they are infact extremely cu nning in the ways of self preservation and self enrichment . Which is why this
will never happen.

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

Please . Chinese eastern cities and literally anything in worst korea is 100 X better than the hellholes 60- 70% of our urban dwellers endure. East and southeast asia are the only successful models that have our population density.
Chinese cities were well planned even in the 70s. The main roads were made wide even though automobiles were banned for the peasants. This is a communist thing right out of the Soviet Union model where urban planning has always been good even if the countries were dirt poor. If you look at Mandalay or Yangon in Myanmar , you will see that the main city roads are wide and grid like with proper sidewalks and well designed intersections . However these cities are very poor too. Same can be said of several bombed out Eastern European cities. In India we have a resistance to prioritizing good urban living. Aspirations to be orderly and efficient are simply not there. Cities are just giant villages in India where several villages cluster fucked together to become a “city”. I think only new cities and private towns in India are decent and live able. The rest is a nightmare.

Azaad

Babooz aren't stupid as is claimed by this thread they are infact extremely cu nning in the ways of self preservation and self enrichment . Which is why this

will never happen.
That's what I had hoped a movement like AAP would champion . Instead it metamorphosed into pAAP .

Everything I've written here will come true . What remains to be seen is if some wise leadership at the centre is willing to be proactive or things drag on till people hit the street. Or something in between these two extreme templates occur.

karn

That's what I had hoped a movement like AAP would champion . Instead it metamorphosed into pAAP .

Everything I've written here will come true . What remains to be seen is if some wise leadership at the centre is willing to be proactive or things drag on till people hit the street. Or something in between these two extreme templates occur.
=During UPA there was hardly any infra made .. companies that bid for projects were in debt, land acquisition law for 3X market rate came just after.
After that roadkari and bhajipao swallowed that 3X market rate and transformed the highway sector.
Now the issue is cities are under State -> district --> municipality only if all 3 are aligned will a decision to even do anything happen and then comes the normal comedy issues of nimby.

Azaad

=During UPA there was hardly any infra made .. companies that bid for projects were in debt, land acquisition law for 3X market rate came just after.
After that roadkari and bhajipao swallowed that 3X market rate and transformed the highway sector.
Now the issue is cities are under State -> district --> municipality only if all 3 are aligned will a decision to even do anything happen and then comes the normal comedy issues of nimby.

Problems of big metros.

Can't say if political reforms in running cities & reorganizing them can work in all cases as wealthy & influential citizens will always try to benefit themselves .

Not saying this particular instance is such a case as the situation is more nuanced than that.

Cheran

Can i post this here, as it comes under "Internet infra"

1713242421845.png

According to reports by Economic Times, the approval process has progressed well, with the commercial aspects of Starlink's application meeting the necessary criteria related to foreign investment and net worth.

Aundh DP road project, Pune. 1st complete Street project in India completed using Urban Street Design Guidelines (USDG) under Smart Cities Mission in 2016.

via SahilInfra

View attachment 248642
View attachment 248643
View attachment 248639
This is what I want to see on a widespread scale. We need to follow up with zealous maintenance and cleaniness. More garbage cans, garbage can collector trucks and mechanized street sweepers, and more landfills that would recycle trash on a massive scale. India needs about 3k-4k landfills that can recycle up to 1 million tons a day.

Can i post this here, as it comes under "Internet infra"

View attachment 248628

According to reports by Economic Times, the approval process has progressed well, with the commercial aspects of Starlink's application meeting the necessary criteria related to foreign investment and net worth.
This should have been blocked